Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Observations from my first few roasts
MikeWI
I'm still learning to use the Gene Cafe, and one of the challenges is that I just can't hear the cracks. If I get my ear right down to the chaff collector's outlet, I'll hear an occasional snap but that's it.

As a result, I'm going by appearance pretty much exclusively after following some suggested profiles from this forum. I noted an interesting (to me) difference in the last two batches. Both were 4 oz. of SM's Brazil Fazenda do Sertal Catual.

1st batch: preheat to 350, add beans and set to 482 until 1st crack, then lower to 451 until the color looks right. I prefer FC to FC+ roasts, and this bean is supposed to be good for that. I really can't say for sure that I heard the 1st crack on this one, but the resulting brew is very good so far, and it's only sat for 1.5 days.

2nd batch: preheat to 350, add beans and let it get back to 350 and sit there during the first two minutes. Not much time, but baby steps... Then I set it to 482 until 1st crack (heard it this time, but who knows if it was really the start) and then down to 451 til the color was the same as the first batch.

Both batches were pulled immediately and cooled outside by stirring in a aluminum colander. As far as I can tell 2nd crack never started, but the flat side of the beans are convex now, and there are some cracks across the bean at the ends. No smoke either.

What's interesting is that both batches are identical in color, the after roast weight is 3 3/8 oz for both of them, but the second batch is noticeably larger in volume than the first. small difference, but the 1st batch barely fits in a jelly jar and the second batch doesn't. The lid won't even engage the threads.

This is a natural process bean, and I'm not sure if it needs a drying phase at the beginning of the roast, so that's why I tried the small change. Does it seem likely to anyone else that this could make that much of a difference?