Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Roasters Pal app (iOS and Android)
greztukas
Hi all,

I want to introduce you with a tool which I made to help me record and manage roasting profiles. The tool made as an app called "Roasters Pal" and works on Android and iOS phones and tablets.
All the info, screenshots, video and tutorial how to make a Bluetooth device you can find at www.roasterspal.com

How project born?
I started this project as simple data logger as I wanted more repeatable roasts on my Gene Cafe. After I upgraded my roaster I tried Artisan for some time as well, but I still wanted a little more than profile on laptop or computer. I wanted something more mobile, wireless, with additional features like extra comments, images, tasting notes, rating, etc. So I returned back to my logger and started to add additional functions I was missing. And the app was born. I've been using this app for over 3 years now and just few weeks ago I made it available for public as I think it could help for other coffee roasters as well.

What you can do in app?
In short, it's a tool that can help you:
  1. create a profile and notes,
  2. log roasting temperatures and events,
  3. preview temperature readings and RoR in graph,
  4. add comments,
  5. taste notes and images,
  6. see all the timers and development structure,
  7. compare profiles during the roasting (roast to target).
  8. You can export, import, share or print profile if needed.

You can also make a simple temperature logger (Arduino based Bluetooth Low Energy device) that can automatically record temperatures to profile once connected to an app (tutorial and Arduino code available on website).

Watch the video how app works in auto mode with Bluetooth device connected (roasted on my Gene Cafe with extra thermocouple attached).

What are the future plans?