Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
IsaacC’s 4kg (8.9lb) Classic Drum Roaster
IsaacC
This thread is meant to keep a record of my process and is a place where people will be most benefited by it. I also need a lot of help. ☺️

Background: I started roasting coffee in 2013 with a whirley pop and never upgraded. Great learning experience though. That’s when I discovered my love for tasty coffee, similar to wine tasting in its complexity. Fruity coffee notes are my favorite! I’m a mechanical engineer by education, and always try to figure out how to DIY things. I love frugality as well. I started a non-profit coffee shop called Ardent Coffee in Portland, OR, USA, all profit to help end human trafficking through IJM, and the desire to cultivate a space of belonging surrounding this cause. The shop closed in 2022, but my dream lives on in the form of a coffee roasting business with the same mission and vision. This roaster is my next step in furthering that vision!

Here’s a google sheet with design info. Feel free to download a copy and mess around with the numbers. It’s probably more confusing than it needs to be. 😂
https://docs.goog...pe=msexcel

Here are a few pictures of my design so far
IsaacC attached the following images:
7e744834-5039-480d-ad24-3e3606afd7f3.jpeg f7b9028d-c75f-418a-b465-75e8b8f95eb5.jpeg 88e42e16-9955-4f06-acb8-45b73eb4c72e.jpeg 27e1098d-80f6-4e38-8c11-5343debc4bf9.jpeg

Edited by renatoa on 10/09/2023 11:40 AM

allenb
Let us know what stage you are at? Are you already fabricating parts or still in the design mode? If you haven't finalized the design and aren't cutting metal, I would suggest that you discuss the major design components with us so we can make sure all of the major parts are going to be optimum and work together as a whole. I see some issues with the burner BTU's for the size of this roaster, forward vanes size, BT probe layout and internal shroud surrounding the drum.