Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Advice needed for type roaster to build.
Skyhawk4
I am new to roasting. I have been using a cheap air roaster I purchased. It is extremely limited. It has only 2 buttons to choose either "Medium" or "Full" roast. You put in a max of 70g of green coffee beans and press one of the two buttons and it roasts your beans. The results are not consistent which is frustrating.

I do like to build DIY things. So I thought I'd try to build a roaster. Ideally I would like to build a roaster that would produce a quality and consistent roast of 300g of beans. I would never need to roast more than 500g. I would like to be able to control the roast process. So it would need to do a good job allowing me to manually control the heat and fan to adjust the temperature of the bean roast. I want to be able to repeat roasting profiles, so I would like the ability to save roasting profiles to use for another roast.

I have been looking at the options for DIY roasters and it is a bit overwhelming. But the heat gun, bread machine roasters look like something I'd be interested in building. Can this type of roaster be built to allow me to do the things well, that I am looking for though? If not, then what would you suggest that I consider? I am so new that I really need help/advice. Thanks in advance for help with this.

renatoa
All your control requirements implies focusing your build efforts more to electronics rather than mechanics of such machine.
I would take a look at TC4 thread, it's the standard in this field.
Worthy alternatives to BMHG could be:
- flour sifter based roaster, check Larry Cotton design
- turbo oven lid based roaster, look for SCTO or KKTO acronyms.

Skyhawk4

renatoa wrote:

All your control requirements implies focusing your build efforts more to electronics rather than mechanics of such machine.
I would take a look at TC4 thread, it's the standard in this field.
Worthy alternatives to BMHG could be: